The sourdough experiment continues

Good for dinner and again for breakfast. As you can see I have no biscuit cutter.

After the failed sourdough bread a couple of weeks ago, I didn’t give up on sourdough.  Last Sunday, we got home from the farm and I thought it would be good to use some of the sourdough and to feed the starter, so I made these biscuits to go with grilled chicken and vegetables.  They were also good again in the morning warmed up  and spread with my friend Deb’s plum orange jam.  In the middle of the week, I fed the starter again and last night I started the sponge for the sourdough baguette that we’d bake today, this time cutting the recipe in half so that we’d have a more reasonable amount of finished bread.

After breakfast, I added the salt, the crucial ingredient that I missed last time and the rest of the flour, kneaded the dough until it was smooth, divided it into three loaves and put it on the baguette pan.  I brushed the loaves with egg wash, slashed the tops, put poppy seeds on one of the loaves and let it rise.  We baked it at 400 degrees and it looked pretty good coming out of the oven.

Sourdough Baguette Loaves Before Rising

Risen Sour Dough Loaves Before Baking

After a bit of yard work, the bread was pretty tasty with a selection of cheeses and some sausage.  And for anyone who knows that we went to a Wisconsin Cheese Originals tasting reception at Olbrich Gardens last night to taste the 25 best cheeses in Wisconsin and doesn’t think that we needed to eat more cheese today, I say “pfffft”.  Wisconsin cheese is awesome and I’d really miss the good cheese if we ever moved away.  Little danger of that.  I think we’re pretty deeply rooted here.

Successful Sourdough Loaves

I’m definitely not done experimenting with sourdough, but I’m not totally satisfied with the book I’m using.  I’m waiting for a few books from the library.  Most of my cookbooks don’t have enough information about baking bread, let alone sourdough.  I think I need to hit the used bookstores and see if there are any treasures out there.

This entry was posted in Culinary Experiments, Sourdough. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The sourdough experiment continues

  1. Leslie says:

    Mmmm…I love the smell of freshly baked bread. Looks great 🙂

  2. Aster says:

    Hi! You probably won’t get back to the comments on this post, if ever, but I’m coming out your way today. Taking advantage of the nice weather to put potatoes, two kinds of onions and leeks in the ground.

Leave a Reply

