Naming schemes…getting ahead of myself

If you read this blog regularly, or if you talk to me much at all, you know I think about the farm all the time.  And of course I’m getting ahead of myself.  So for my entertainment, and possibly yours….I have naming schemes for barn cats, chickens and goats.

Barn Cats:

Dr. Who:  The boy cat is always Doc no matter how many times he regenerates.  For the girls, we cycle through the names of the Doctor’s companions.  Almost certainly skipping “Donna” since that is my mother-in-law’s name.

Chickens:  There have to be a lot of names.  So flowers:  Lily, Daisy, Poppy, Iris, Rose and so on…  It’s impossible to run out.

Goats:  I’m sure someone is going to frown about this, but the goat names are:  Elda, Myra, Laura and Helen.  O.K., maybe not Helen since some of my best friends named their baby Helen last year, but those are the names of my grandmother and her sisters.  If push comes to shove and I need more names for my tiny milking herd of goats (yes, I want to make cheese) I could tap a couple of other deceased relatives’ names, so Viola and Adele.  Is it respectful to name goats after my mother’s mother and her aunts?    Nope.  Do I find it funny?  Yes.  Would anyone other than my sister know that this is disrespectful?  Again, nope.  So I see nothing here to stop me, when and if these animals take up residence.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Naming schemes…getting ahead of myself

  1. gaile says:

    DonnaNoble. Call her Noble when the living Donna is around, and Bob’s yer uncle! 😉

  2. Aster says:

    Nice. You realize though that this naming scheme business is pure fantasy right now. We’d have to be out there full time to properly care for these animals.

  3. curt says:

    I love it! Does this mean you’re going to actualize that story from the B*ble where King What’s-His-Name kills all the newborn males (yeah, I know that’s probably not exactly the story, but I’m no scholar when it comes to that book)? Maybe all the boy cats are named Dr. Who?

    BTW, I love that you’re thinking so much about the farm and the possibilities. Would love to sit and talk to you about it over drinks some time.

  4. Aster says:

    Curt, funny and no. Neutered cats because we can’t have feral animal kingdom out there, so two or three at a time would be o.k. But I don’t expect them to live as long as house cats if they get into it with the raccoons, get caught by coyotes or if they tangle with the badger. And yes, we have at least one badger digging holes and making his/herself at home on the property. The naming of course is the silly stuff that doesn’t matter like the taking care of chickens and maybe goats… We’re starting with stuff that needs weekly, but not daily care like plants instead of animal. Seeds ordered yesterday… I’d love to get together with you any time and talk about this stuff and any other topics. Perhaps some time we’ll actually be in the same city, at the same time for a couple of hours…

  5. Aster says:

    Tonight we talked about what if we ate Lily for dinner? Deron said it sounds too much like a person’s name. But apparently it’s o.k. to eat Buttercup for dinner. He also thinks the goat names don’t really roll off the tongue. That’s kind of the point. The goats should have awful old lady names. And again, only because it amuses me. Oh and besides goat cheese, there might have to be yogurt. Stupid Stonyfield…

Leave a Reply

