2010 meme

2010 was quite a year for us.  I see all sorts of possibilities now that I didn’t see before this year.  I want to do a lot of different things that if you’d asked me before this year, I wouldn’t have found them remotely interesting.   For instance, I’m thinking of taking up deer hunting.   If you do the meme, let me know.
1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?
Bought 38 acres of rural land.
2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Never make New Year’s resolutions
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Yes.  And tiny Helen is a joy!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Somebody who was close to me a few years ago died in a small plane crash in February.  Sometimes I still have trouble believing it.

5. What countries did you visit?
none, but the list of places I would like to go is long and varied.


6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
A start on taking control of the horrible weed problem at our land.

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Our summer solstice canoe camping trip with really high water and Friday July 16th when we closed on the farm, anniversary trip to Custer Park in South Dakota.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

9. What was your biggest failure?
Failure to outsmart raccoons.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nothing major, but my second insect sting in two years helped me to determine that my desire to keep bees will not be realized.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

The land.  I think about it daily and think about how to spend more time there.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My husband’s.  His calm tends to smooth things out when I get wound up.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
The governor-elect of Wisconsin and Tea Party voters.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Very possibly the Ace Hardware store in Darlington, after of course the land.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
The potential of the land in a good way and its many weed issues, in a bad way.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?
“I and Love and You” by the Avett Brothers

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?
a)about the same, but perhaps more hopeful; b) about the same; c) Kind of depends on how you calculate it

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Paddling.  I always want more of that, but the Wisconsin River was so high this year and working at the land ate up most of our warm weather weekends.
19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
worrying

20. How did you spend Christmas?

At home with D.  We had a nice quiet weekend together after traveling the weekend before for early family Christmas.

21. Did you fall in love in 2010?
Yes, with the dark sky over our land.

22. How many one-night stands?

Zero.  Since this didn’t even happen back in the Club D Wash days,  this question is so stupid, I think it may not make it into next year’s meme.

23. What was your favorite TV program?
The now cancelled, “Better Off Ted”


24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Absolutely.  Raccoons.

25. What was the best book you read?
“The Unsettling of America” by Wendell Berry, closely followed by any of a number of books I’ve read on gardening, orchardry, cider-making and farming.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?

27. What did you want and get?
Lots of good opportunities to get outside and a tremendous opportunity to restore some native habitats.

28. What did get, but not want?
Buckthorn, wild parsnips, multiflora rose, burdock, thistles and giant ragweed.

29. What was your favorite film of this year?
I don’t think I made it to single movie in the theater this year.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
We spent my 42nd birthday tromping around in the slushy snow and sometimes mud at Governor Dodge State Park.  We saw raccoons sleeping in a dumpster and had dinner at the Grumpy Troll in Mt. Horeb on the way home.  Just to be clear, we weren’t exactly excited to see the raccoons, nor they us, but this was before the raccoon hatred set in.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

If we’d managed to get rid of the house at the farm.  Actually, I guess that’s kind of measurable.


32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?

Casual and weather appropriate.

33. What kept you sane?
Out door time, my husband’s calm, books and my bike commute.
34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I’ve never been one for celebrity crushes.

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
The Scott Walker and the High Speed Rail debacle.  Way to piss away a great opportunity.

36. Who did you miss?
I miss my parents now and then.


37. Who was the best new person you met?
Celia’s boyfriend Dave.  Dave has a lot of information in his head that I would like to have in mine.
38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.

Beware the wild parsnip and multiflora rose is the devil.
39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

I don’t believe that there is a song that sums up the year I’ve had.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

