It’s Hen of the Woods Season!

Having had a wet summer and 110 gallons of rain barrel water to deal with before we have hard frost, I went out to set up a soaker hose around our oak tree where we’ve previously had hen of the woods mushrooms.  As I lifted some hosta leaves to guide the house around the tree, I found a huge mushroom which with a little effort, I pulled free of its roots.  It weighed in at 3 pounds, 7.25 ounces.  I’m pretty excited about this.  And about the fact that another smaller mushroom has already sprouted at the base of the tree.  D. wondered if the drip line was even necessary.  I think it can’t hurt.

The funny thing is that my mother-in-law and I went to the farmers’ market yesterday and I made a point of looking for the vendor who sometimes sells these.  He had lots of garlic and onions, but none of these.  We certainly are a couple of weeks ahead of the point where we picked last year’s mushroom.   I figured it might be too early yet, but who knows.  Maybe he had some and was sold out by the time we got there.  This sure bodes well for this year’s mushroom season though.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Hen of the Woods Season!

  1. Melanie says:

    Yep. Looks very interesting. That’s all I have to say! 🙂 LOL – no, I hope you enjoy it and it as tasty as expected. Me? I’m glad I’m 2000 miles away!

  2. Aster says:

    Yes, I thought of you and your mushroom hatred. It was good last year. I’m sure it will be good this year too.

  3. Karen says:

    I love mushrooms, however this is a new one to me! When I’ve looked it up I see it is rare in France.

  4. Aster says:

    And it is Hen of the Woods season again. A little later this year, but I just took in a 3 pound 5 3/4 mushroom from our oak tree today. I hope it’s not the only one we get.

Leave a Reply

