Jimmy Nardello Peppers, Two Ways

Today I picked the first few of the Jimmy Nardello peppers that I started from seeds indoors early in the spring.  They were worth the wait.  D. hasn’t had them before pulled a little piece right off the cutting board try it.  He said they have good flavor.  He is absolutely correct.  I had cut some in longer strips to sauté with zucchini, onions, half of a carmen red pepper and beef fajita meat from Jordandal Farms.  This morning I marinated the meat this in lime juice with unmeasured quantities of chili powder, cumin, black pepper and a little sea salt.

A smaller quantity of the Jimmy Nardellos ended up finely chopped in a fresh salsa with a clove of minced garlic, onion and two good-sized heirloom tomatoes with sea salt and pepper.

With tortillas, a little freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese and some sour cream this was a really satisfying dinner.  Of course, no pictures of the finished product.

I also saved some of the seeds for next year.  The seeds for this year’s crop came from Seed Savers.  I’ll be keeping up that tradition too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment