Rhubarb-Raspberry Sorbet

Right now, we have rhubarb and raspberries in our yard and while we’ve been picking raspberries nearly every day and eating them within a couple of days, I wanted to do something with raspberries and rhubarb.  It’s hot today and we still have some of that awful spiced wine left and my google search immediately led me to this recipe from M*rth* Stew*rt.  That wasn’t quite what I wanted to do, but it was amusing to watch the clip of Martha making sorbet w/Lisa Kudrow (whom I love), though I wanted to yak at the beginning of the video when she thanks her studio audience for all wearing pink that day for their pink-themed show and when she has her guests point out paint chips in their favorite hue of pink and talk about why they like them.  After the first couple, I was forced to scroll ahead in the video clip.  I also got to amuse D. a bit by saying, this is what Martha made Lisa do when I was stirring the puree around in the sieve to push through everything but the seeds and when I put the bowl in the fridge saying, “Martha wants me to refrigerate this for an hour before we put in the ice cream maker.”  Anyway though I don’t love Martha, I’ve learned that her published recipes are usually winners.  So here’s where we went with this since we (a) didn’t have the quantities of rhubarb or raspberries that she asked for and (b) wanted to use some of the spiced wine instead of lemon juice (c) didn’t happen to have a vanilla bean lying around but was recently reminded that cardamom is excellent with rhubarb.

3 cups fresh (or frozen) rhubarb

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 cups raspberries

1/4 cup wine or fruit juice

pinch cardamom

Put the rhubarb, sugar and 1/4 cup of water in a saucepan and bring to a boil, turn it down so that it simmers, stirring occasionally.  The sugar should all dissolve and the rhubarb should disintegrate into a sauce in 15 minutes or so.  Clean the raspberries and put them in a blender, add the rhubarb mixture (in batches if it is too much to do all at once).  Push the puree through a sieve into a bowl.  Add the wine and cardamom and stir.  Refrigerate for an hour or more.  Transfer to an ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  Again, we’re doing this in the vintage, hand-crank Maid of Honor ice cream maker, but I guess the electric counter-top models are pretty popular now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rhubarb-Raspberry Sorbet

  1. D says:

    I hope everyone appreciates how much nicer this photo looks with my staging.

  2. Aster says:

    Nice to see that someone has no reservations about stealing my photo credits…

Leave a Reply

