The non-biking season has not been kind and of course some food…

Most of the year, I ride my bike to and from work.  Eight miles a day, five days a week.  It’s not really an athlete’s exercise, but it’s good moderate exercise for a person with a fairly sedentary job.   It’s also an efficient use of my time because then my commute is also my exercise.   I’m not a gym person, or a work out to DVDs person, or a person who will ever own a W**, let alone a W** Fit.  Biking in the basement is also boring, so  it’s hard to get enough exercise in the winter when there isn’t enough snow for skiing.  Today, I think we’ll get out ice skating in the afternoon and this past week, one day I walked all the way home from work, but I really don’t have the time to walk nearly four miles every day after work.  I wish I did.  I also wish it was light out.  What I do have time to do though is to take pretty much any bus that will get me a little bit west and then get off when I have about two miles left and walk the rest of the way.  I did that almost every day this week and it made me pretty happy.  I also decided that I didn’t really have any excuse not to take the stairs up at work.  I think I saw the inside of an elevator exactly twice this week.  Once when I had some unwieldy posters and once when what I needed to move was a cart with three large but light boxes.  I hope this helps, because as I said the non-biking season has not been kind.

There will be no baking of bread this week unless you want to count the pizza dough I’ll be making tomorrow.  I did make muffins this morning though.  Cranberry muffins infused with orange and cardamom.  They were good.  If you want to do this, you can basically use any basic muffin recipe you want.    I use one out of the “Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook” or out of “The Joy of Cooking” though I always use whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose flour, the latter only makes cameo appearances in my kitchen these days.  Use a cup of fresh or frozen cranberries.  I like the big pieces, so I only cut them in half.   For the orange, wash and orange and zest it, then cut it in half, juice it and use the juice as part of whatever liquid your recipe calls for.  Put a pinch of ground cardamom in the dry ingredients and add the orange zest when you add the wet ingredients.  Very tasty muffins for the winter.  Sorry no pictures due to the fact that I could not think straight when they came out of the oven since I had only had half a grapefruit and some coffee.  And they just look like what  you’d expect them to look like anyway.

Last but not least, I’m going to talk about yogurt.  This week, the store was out of my favorite whole milk, cream top yogurt.  I eat this most weekdays with fresh or frozen fruit and a little sprinkle of the granola that I make and it keeps me until lunch time.  I knew I didn’t want to get the same brand’s vanilla since I grabbed one of those by accident a while ago and it was WAAAAAYYYYYY too sweet.  That’s why I buy plain yogurt in the first place.  So I decided to buy the low-fat yogurt.  I figured it couldn’t be too bad, after all it wasn’t fat-free yogurt.  (I will just never get what the point is of adding Vitamin D (a fat soluble vitamin) to food that has no fat.)  I had sort of forgotten about the low fat business when I had my first serving of this stuff.  I didn’t really care for the taste, or maybe it was just the mouth feel.  Anyway, I unfortunately bought two tubs of it, so I am stuck with another week of eating this and being hungry before lunch.   That last bit could just be my imagination, but I was hungry before lunch eating something with not enough fat that didn’t have a satisfying texture and taste.  This will not happen again.  I’ll stop at another store on the way home to get what I really want.  That is all.  End of rant.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The non-biking season has not been kind and of course some food…

  1. Peggy says:

    I’ve also accidentally grabbed the vanilla and was shocked at how sweet it is. I can only imagine what Banilla tastes like. Good idea with the muffins -I’m putting that on my “gotta try that sometime” list.

  2. Pingback: Stonyfield Replaces Creamtop Yogurt with Homogenized Abomination « Mad Aster

Leave a Reply

