Ryebread…tasty, but not so photogenic

Broccoli and Mushroom Quiche with Swiss Cheese and Homemade Rye BreadYesterday we made rye bread.  Easy recipe.  Yeast and water.  Equal amounts of rye flour, whole wheat flour and bread flour.  A bottle of Guinness, brown sugar, salt, molasses and a little oil.  Yesterday we had it with yellow split pea soup with white and orange carrots, a parsnip, an onion (thank you Primrose Community Farm winter storage share), garlic (still working on the last long storage garlic I bought at the last fall farmers’ market) and celery.  This was really tasty bread and the recipe made two loaves.  We can only eat so much bread, especially since D. was only home yesterday and today is off to work in St. Cloud until Wednesday afternoon.  Tonight, I’ll be eating the bread again with broccoli mushroom quiche and tomorrow with a dinner salad with among other things spicy broiled shrimp, avocado and really pretty beauty heart radishes.  This bread wasn’t as photogenic as the last week’s creation, so no picture.   It came out of the metal bread pan just fine, but not so much with the Pyrex glass bread pan.  I don’t think we’ll be making bread in that pan again.

I hunted around on the internet last night for some good bread pans and I think I found them.  I’m getting two more bread pans as well as a baguette pan.  The reviews for the pans that I found were good from people who sounded like they knew what they were doing.  Of course also a couple of bad reviews from people who either didn’t sound like they knew what they were doing or the obligatory review from someone who felt the need to complain about the price.  Whatever.  The most interesting thing in the reviews about the baguette pan and the very similar French bread pan (just different dimensions) both of which are perforated was that many people mentioned that it was good for making gluten-free breads.  I don’t know if this specifically meant gluten-free French breads or gluten-free bread in general because of the different characteristics of the flours used to make gluten-free bread.  Perhaps I can get a comment out of fidgetybudgie to explain this…   We’ve not made a gluten-free bread yet because celiac and gluten intolerance aren’t issues for us, but I certainly want to get that figured out for the future in case gluten-free bread needs to be on the menu for a guest some time.

The weekend otherwise has been pretty good.  I think the skiing is pretty much ruined, so yesterday, we went to the Chazen Museum of Art on the UW campus  to see the Automata exhibit.   You can’t actually play with any but two of the demonstration pieces, but they have little videos of most of the other works in motion.   A lot of humor in the Automata art.  This afternoon, I need to walk to the library to pick up a couple of books, “Turtle Feet: The Making and Unmaking of a Buddhist Monk” by Nicolai Grozni and “Winter Count” by Barry Lopez.  I’m almost done with “Milwaukee: The Selma of the North” by Patrick D. Jones.   It’s been quite an interesting read.  What happened in Milwaukee with regard to open housing laws and access to employment and education for the African-American Community within the span of one lifetime is really thought-provoking.  It makes me think that we’ve come a long way, but the conditions that I get a glimpse of now and then and the things I read about certainly suggest that as a society, we also have a long way to go.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ryebread…tasty, but not so photogenic

  1. gaile says:

    hm, well I don’t know how much help I can be here. I haven’t tried a perforated pan, but if I ever get one I can perhaps give moreuseful feedback. but my guess is that these are nice for making crusty breads. GF breads are finicky, and we have a hard time getting a nice crust on our breads because we can’t make an unshaped loaf – it will spread and flatten. So perhaps a perforated pan is nice for getting crust all around like one gets on “artisan” loaves.

  2. Peggy says:

    Fun to read about your adventures with bread. We may try skiing this weekend. I’m not optimistic about the conditions, but my parents are coming to town and my dad will go out if there is snow that is even remotely skiable.

Leave a Reply

