Odds and Ends

It seems like there is never enough time.  Just 4 weeks ago, I started out on an 80+ mile kayak trip that took 4 days, mostly on 80+ degree days.  4 really glorious days.  Although I posted my pictures on Picasa with captions, I still want to finish the blog entry I started on it if only to record it better for myself.  I have my hand written notes.  Last week I had a pretty cold afternoon of kayaking.

Oak Tree on the Yahara River above Lake Kegonsa, Sunday October 4th

Oak Tree on the Yahara River above Lake Kegonsa, Sunday October 4th

 

Yahara River Tree Reflections, 10/04/2009

Yahara River Tree Reflections, 10/04/2009

The Beavers have been Busy

The Beavers have been Busy

Yesterday, the water in our birdbath was frozen.  In the afternoon, we went hiking to the Ferry Bluff Natural area.  I passed this area in the first couple of hours of my trip.  We went up to the top of two bluffs in the area.  Cactus Bluff which rises 200 ft above the river and Ferry Bluff itself which rises 300 ft above the river.

View of Ferry Bluff from river level, 10/11/2009

View of Ferry Bluff from river level, 10/11/2009

View up river from Ferry Bluff, 10/11/2009

View up river from Ferry Bluff, 10/11/2009

View down river from Ferry Bluff

View down river from Ferry Bluff

than a couple of miles trails there, we then went over to Natural Bridge State Park.  I think the “bridge” is technically an arch because it doesn’t span any sort of canyon or water, but it is a

Natural Bridge State Park

Natural Bridge State Park

rather singular feature in the SW Wisconsin landscape.

I’ve been cooking a lot.  Sunday, we finished the last of the mushroom.  Saturday at the farmers’ market, they had the hen of the woods for sale again.  $12/pound.  That means we blew through close to $40 worth of mushroom in four meals in the past week.  I never would have bought that much mushroom.  Omelette, pizzas with home made whole wheat crust, stroganoff with bison meat and another omelette.  Of course our mushroom was actually free.  I sure hope we get another one next year. 

This week, an  online friend whom I’ve never met in real life posted a recipe for jalapeño pesto after I recommended she make pesto from her crazy jalapeño harvest.  I’m planning to try her recipe with my abundance of Joe Parker hot peppers later this week.

Fall is really here.  We’ve emptied the rain barrels and disconnected them from the downspout.   Leaves will need to be raked soon.  I collected seeds from some of the prairie plants so that I can start them inside in February.  I also cut all the tops off the purple prairie coneflower.  It seeds itself easily and if I am to maintain any diversity in my prairie garden, I’ve got to put the brakes on that.   Of course I saved the seed heads.  I wondered aloud if the nearby golf course would like some purple prairie coneflower in their prairie remnant that they don’t mow next to the woods in the middle of the course.  D shook his head and asked if I was taking up guerrilla gardening.  Perhaps.

I finished one book and started another.  Right now, it is Terry Tempest Williams book, “Pieces of White Shell:  A Journey to Navajoland”.  I’ve not read it before.  I was too young to appreciate it when it was first published.  I read things like this whenever I start missing the Southwest.  It’s a powerful book.  Ms. Williams’ grasp of science and her appreciation of Navajo mythology and it’s easy relationship to the natural world are all conveyed in her graceful prose.  Right now I have it from the library, but I might have to own this gem of a book if I can find one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Odds and Ends

  1. Melanie says:

    My kids *loved* the tree being felled by beavers. That’s not something we’d see around here! Sounds like you’re ready for fall. I’m still waiting for more under 90 degree days, but I know they’re coming! We can finally sleep with the windows open and I love that.

  2. gaile says:

    oo the beaver tree is seriously cool! i’ve never seen anything like that! And i tink guerilla gardening is a great idea. do it do it do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

