Pizza con Funghi

After the harvest of the great mushroom yesterday, I wanted to make pizza to use with some of the other great late summer/early fall ingredients that are available now. Carmen peppers, plum tomatoes, pesto (I harvested 4 cups of basil leaves yesterday which seems like a lot, but it is actually just a few snack size bags of pesto, most of which I froze, but I saved one for the pizza.) I also bought some prosciutto and grated some mozzarella and parmesan cheese. I hadn’t made pizza dough in a while, but it turned out great with half whole wheat flour and half white whole wheat. I’ve really been loving the white whole wheat flour and the whole wheat pastry flour. Almost eliminates the need for all-purpose flour all together.

Mushroom Pizza #1, no tomato sauce

Mushroom Pizza #1, no tomato sauce

For the first pizza, I just drizzled the crust with olive oil, distributed the pesto around in dabs, added the sauteed mushroom, carmen pepper, red onion, plum tomato, prosciutto, the cheeses and finished it with a light drizzle of balsamic vinegar.  Sauteeing the mushrooms is really important because of the water content.  This was pretty tasty, but I knew that I was going to get some static from D. about pizza needing to have tomato sauce.

That resulted in pizza number two which was roughly the same minus pesto, but with tomato sauce and a slightly higher ratio of prosciutto to vegetables:

Pizza Number 2, and yep, this one didn't exactly turn out round.

Pizza Number 2, and yep, this one didn't exactly turn out round.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pizza con Funghi

  1. Peggy says:

    All sounds and looks fabulous. I did have to look up what a Carmen Pepper is. I learned from Google that it is either a type of sweet pepper or a person on Facebook with friends that include Angus Padfield, Tristan Porter, and Tamiesha Wright.

  2. Aster says:

    Sweet pepper from our CSA. I can assure you we’ve not gone cannibal.

Leave a Reply

