Food for the trip

Next Sunday I leave for a 4 day river trip. Sometimes we cook on coals for a meal, but on this trip, I’ll be doing all of my cooking in a pot in a short amount of time using a very tiny camp stove. Breakfast will include coffee which is in tea-like bags, Emergen-C (because I worry about getting enough fluids on these trips when I spend all my time outside) and while I don’t care about cold water, lukewarm water is not that appetizing. I also hate the texture of hot cereal, but I think I can handle quick cooking oatmeal if I mix it with my really great home made granola. I’ll take small cans of salmon so that I can eat protein in the middle of the day. My dinners will be mixed. One will be a Knorr rice and vegetable mix with a can of chicken meat added to it. One will be a Lipton Noodles mix with extra dried mushrooms added to it and two will be based on a Sierra Club cookbook, “Simple Foods for the Pack”. One will be a black bean chili and the other will be pesto pasta. I look forward to these two meals because they have considerably less sodium and actually less ingredients that I object to, but portability pushes the limits, so I’ll just take the extra sodium and drink a bunch of water.

I usually eat a lot of fresh vegetables and fruit. The Knorr side dish claims to have 2 full servings of vegetables. We’ll see what I think about that. I’ll also take some durable vegetables like carrots and fruit like apples. (Thank goodness we’re on the early end of the season for local apples.) I’ll also bring fresh garlic and onions to cut up at camp and put in the dinners that I put together at home and put in the prepackaged dinners as well. Besides that, I’ll have some tamari almonds (I make these regularly because they taste good and have less sodium than commercial snacks), dried fruit, some sort of organic breakfast bar in case of morning rain, a bunch of the excellent home made granola. On the river, I’ve learned I like to eat often, though not very much at a time unlike the regular meals and rare snacks that I favor in a regular home and work day. I also plan to freeze yogurt and fruit for my first two mornings. It won’t be frozen by the time I get to it, but it won’t be spoiled either. Much different standards for kitchen hygiene and food safety on the river. If you’ve never been there, I can’t begin to explain it to you…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food for the trip

  1. Melanie says:

    I’m a bit envious of your trip – actually the solitude 🙂 I’m sure you’ll have a wonderful trip. When you’re back, would you mind sharing your granola recipe, and the tamari almond recipe? You’ve got me intrigued. Thanks!

  2. Aster says:

    Melanie–I’m more than happy to share recipes. I’ll even post them before I go.

  3. Peggy says:

    Hey, I found you out on the blogosphere. Have a great trip if I don’t talk to you before you leave. I know you’ve been looking forward to this. On a somewhat related note, Kirk and I did book one of the Kingfisher rooms at the Trempealeau Hotel for early October.

  4. Aster says:

    Hi Peggy–

    Wow, now I have three readers! Might be time to make the blog a little nicer place. The ranting might have to go. Kingfisher is pretty spartan, but the price is right and at least you get your own bathroom there and you can actually walk to the Hotel for dinner. Breakfast is a challenge in Trempealeau these days, so I suggest bringing your own. Still a nice location for anything you want to do in the park or on the trails. The cabin we rented in December is right down the road from Kingfisher. I’d like to get back up there.

Leave a Reply

