Green Salad with Blueberries and Basil Blueberry Vinaigrette

My pal over at Fidgety Budgie sent me some Blossom Vinegars Blueberry Basil Vinegar and yesterday I created a salad expressly for the purpose of trying out the vinegar.  I’d like to try it with fresh blueberries, but it might be nice that the frozen ones bleed their juice into the dressing which is what happened.  As is, this recipe is gluten and dairy free.  I also thought about adding goat cheese.  So, regretably there is no picture.  And I don’t care much for measuring, but here it is:

Green Salad with Blueberries and Basil Blueberry Vinaigrette

Several cups of any leafy green lettuce, washed and torn

1 beautyheart radish, sliced thin

1 cup fresh blueberries or frozen blueberries, thawed  (I used frozen because at this time of year fresh blueberries are probably from Chile.  The frozen ones are from Michigan.)

Handful of walnut halves or chopped walnuts

 

For the dressing:

1/4 cup walnut oil

less than 1/4 cup of  Blossom Vinegars Blueberry Basil Vinegar

around a teaspoon of Dijon Mustard

freshly ground pepper and sea salt to taste

Stir the dressing with a whisk and then pour over the vegetable ingredients in a large bowl and toss.  Serve immediately after adding walnuts (and goat cheese if using).

It was tasty.  I would definitely do that again.  If I do, I’ll try not to be so impatient and to come back and edit this post adding a picture.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Salad with Blueberries and Basil Blueberry Vinaigrette

  1. gaile says:

    oo that sounds awesome! So glad you got to try the vinegar and liked it!

  2. Aster says:

    Thanks Gaile.

    Let me know what you think if you try it. I’m sure other radishes would be fine. Right now we have beauty hearts. Maybe when local blueberries are available it’ll be French Breakfast Radishes. Those are pretty and I didn’t try them last year when they were available.

    Now I need to buy some fish and use the Dukka that you sent.

Leave a Reply

